Bursar Operations
School of Labor and Urban Studies
25 West 43 Street
New York, NY 10036
Call (646) 313-8420
Bursar@slu.cuny.edu

All tuition charges and fees listed herein are subject to change by action of the Board of Trustees of The City University of New York without prior notice. In the event of any increase in tuition charges and fees, payments already made to CUNY SLU will be treated as partial payment, and notification will be given of the additional amount due and the time and method of payment.

Graduate Tuition · Academic Year 2024 - 2025

Degree or Certificate FULL-TIME
12 or more billable credits/hours
PART-TIME
11 or fewer billable credits/hours
Online Degree Program
New York State Resident $5,545 per semester ** $470 per credit $470 per credit
New York State Non-Residents $855 per credit $855 per credit $565 per credit


**
NYS residents enrolled in a full-time graduate degree or certificate qualify for a fixed rate of tuition = $5,545
To determine if you are eligible for the New York State tuition rate, please see New York State Residency Requirements

Graduate students must be registered for courses in the semester in which they file for and obtain their degree. Students not taking courses should register to maintain matriculation and pay the fee. NYS Resident: $225; Non-NYS Resident: $370

Non-Instructional Fees · Academic Year 2024 - 2025

All non-instructional fees listed are mandatory and billed with tuition for courses taken on campus, off campus, or online. Once a student enrolls, they are responsible for all fees associated with their registration. Such fees are charged each semester and cannot be waived.

Student Activity Fee
Billed to All Programs:
$23.55
Supports professional development, health and wellness, commencement, student services, and community engagement.
Student Senate Fee
Billed to All Programs: $1.45
Supports University Student Senate
Technology Fee
Billed to All Programs: $62.50 or $125
Supports delivery of online and remote courses; improves campus computer services. Full-time students pay $125.00 per semester and part-time students pay $62.50 per semester.
Consolidated Fee
Billed to All Programs: $15
Covers external processing of financial aid applications, immunization programs, system-wide tuition and fee collections by the Office of the University Controller, and the administration of various tests.
Infrastructure Fee
Billed to Online Only: $75
Covers administrative costs for students enrolled in a fully online degree, certificate, or course.

Special and Penalty Fees

Duplicate Bill ($5)
A free copy of the student’s e-bill may be printed for the last semester of attendance (or any semester in which a balance exists). Printed e-bills that do not meet the established criteria for free printing will be charged to the student account at a rate of $5.00 per duplicated document. The student will be required to pay this using any accepted method.
Readmission Fee ($20)
If a student previously took courses and received grades from the School of Labor and Urban Studies but has not been in attendance for one or more semesters, the student is required to submit a Request for Readmission. There is a one-time fee of $20 that will be added to your tuition bill at the time of registration. Please do not send the $20 fee when filing your application.
Replacement ID Cards ($10)
To request a new ID card, the student must complete a Request to Replace Student ID and return it to the Bursar’s Office (in-person or mail) with the payment ($10, check or money order).
Duplicate Diplomas ($30)
Students requiring a duplicated diploma because the original was lost, stolen, or damaged must complete a Duplicate Diploma Form and submit it to the Bursar’s Office (in-person or mail) with the payment ($30). A new diploma will be scheduled for issuance by the Office of the Registrar.
Make-up Examinations ($25)
Students who miss a final exam must first obtain faculty approval to do so by completing an Application for Make-Up Examination. Upon approval, the student must bring the signed form to the Bursar’s Office (in-person) with the payment ($25.00 for the first exam and $5 for each additional exam, check or money order).
Transcript Fee
Students may order a copy of their transcript online via CUNYfirst or directly through Credentials Solutions. For more information on transcript ordering, click here.

  • There will be no charge for transcripts supplied to other CUNY colleges and affiliated units.
  • Transcript orders placed through third parties, including through intermediaries and CUNY contractors, may be subject to third-party fees and charges that are in addition to the Transcript Fee. Students (or other requestor) ordering transcripts through third parties will be responsible for paying all third-party fees and charges directly to the third party, or as otherwise required by CUNY.
Late Payment ($15)
Students who are delinquent in paying tuition and fees will be required to pay this fee in addition to all outstanding bills to regain the privileges of good fiscal standing with the College which include the right to attend classes and access to one’s student records. If the student is required to pay a readmission fee, the nonpayment service fee shall be in addition, if appropriate.
Change of Program ($18)
Students are required to pay a fee each time they make certain program changes, on or after the first official day of classes based upon the official CUNY calendar. The fee(s) charged will cover one or more program changes made at the same time. Examples of changes incurring a fee: addition of a course or courses; changing from one course to another course; changing from one section of a course to another section of the same course. This fee is not applicable to college-initiated changes.
Helpdesk Fine: Late ($25)
Students are required to return borrowed equipment (e.g., laptops, iPads, etc.,) by the time and date indicated on their agreement; late returns are charged a $25 fee.
Helpdesk Fine: Damaged Tech/No-Return ($1,000)
Borrowed technology that is returned damaged will be charged to repair or replace the device, up to $1,000.00. Additionally, borrowed technology that is not returned within 10-business days of the due date will be charged the overdue penalty ($25.00) plus the total cost of the laptop ($1,000.00), totaling $1,025.00.
Returned Check ($20)
Returned checks, paper or electronic, result in a $20 fee (per occurrence and regardless of reason). The student will no longer be permitted to pay by personal check, physical or electronic. Other accepted methods include money order, teller check, credit card (online) or payment plan (online). The student is required to settle their entire bill, including the returned check fee, before the official first day of classes. Accounts in a past-due status must be settled immediately to avoid Bursar holds and/or late fees.
Late Registration ($25)
Registration on or after the first official day of classes may incur a $25 fee.