SCHOOL OF LABOR AND URBAN STUDIES MIDDLE STATES WORKING GROUP REPRESENTATIVES

Working Group 1: Mission

The institution’s mission defines its purpose within the context of higher education, the students it serves, and what it intends to accomplish. The institution’s stated goals are clearly linked to its mission and specify how the institution fulfills its mission.

Stephen Brier, Professor, PhD Program in Urban Education and Interactive Technology & Pedagogy Doctoral Certificate Program
sbrier@gc.cuny.edu

Additional Members TBA

Working Group 2:  Ethics and Integrity

Ethics and integrity are central, indispensable, and defining hallmarks of effective higher education institutions. in all activities, whether internal or external, an institution must be faithful to its mission, honor its contracts and commitments, adhere to its policies, and represent itself truthfully.

Michael Giliberti, Bursar
Michael.Giliberti@slu.cuny.edu

Sharon Hardy, Director Enrollment Services
Sharon.hardy@slu.cuny.edu

Maureen LaMar, Labor Studies, Program Director
Maureen.lamar@slu.cuny.edu

Gladys Palma de Schrynemakers, Associate Dean Academic Affairs (Graduate Center Steering Committee)
gschryne@slu.cuny.edu

Working Group 3: Design and Delivery of the Student Learning Experience

An institution provides students with learning experiences that are characterized by rigor and coherence at all program, certificate, and degree levels, regardless of instructional modality. All learning experiences, regardless of modality, program pace/schedule, level, and setting are consistent with higher education expectations.

Gladys Palma de Schrynemakers, Associate Dean Academic Affairs
gschryne@slu.cuny.edu

Michael Rymer, Director of Writing Center
Michael.rymer@slu.cuny.edu

Laurie Grimes, Registrar
Laurie.grimes@slu.cuny.edu

Stephen Greenfeld, Urban Studies Program Manager
Stephen.Greenfeld@slu.cuny.edu

Working Group 4: Support of the Student Experience

Across all educational experiences, settings, levels, and instructional modalities, the institution recruits and admits students whose interests, abilities, experiences, and goals are congruent with its mission and educational offerings. The institution commits to student retention, persistence, completion, and success through a coherent and effective support system sustained by qualified professionals, which enhances the quality of the learning environment, contributes to the educational experience, and fosters student success.

Rochel Pinder-Cuffie, Director of Student & Community Affairs
Rochel.pinder-cuffie@slu.cuny.edu

Padraig.O’Donoghue, Manager of Student Support and Retention
Padraig.O’Donoghue@slu.cuny.edu

Samina Shahidi, Program Advisor, Urban Studies MA
Samina.shahidi@slu.cuny.edu

Fitzroy Searles, MA Urban Studies

Veronica Windley, MA Urban Studies

Working Group 5: Educational Effectiveness Assessment

Assessment of student learning and achievement demonstrates that the institution’s students have accomplished educational goals consistent with their program of study, degree level, the institution’s mission, and appropriate expectations for institutions of higher education.

Stephen Greenfeld, Academic Program Manager, Urban Studies
Stephen.Greenfeld@cuny.edu

Rochel Pinder-Cuffie, Student Affairs
Rochel.pinder-cuffie@slu.cuny.edu

Maryam (Sara) Esfarayeni, Manager of Workforce Development
Maryam.Esfarayeni@cuny.edu

Penny Lewis, Associate Professor Labor Studies
Penny.lewis@slu.CUNY.edu

Emily Drabinski, Associate Professor Library
edrabrinski@gc.cuny.edu

Working Group 6:  Planning, Resources, and Institutional Improvement

The institution’s planning processes, resources, and structures are aligned with each other and are sufficient to fulfill its mission and goals, to continuously assess and improve its programs and services, and to respond effectively to opportunities and challenges.

Burt Sacks, Associate Dean Administration
Bart.sacks@slu.CUNY.edu

Dorothy Benson, Associate Director for Administration
dorothy.benson@mail.cuny.edu

Rochel Pinder-Cuffie, Student Affairs (Graduate Center Steering Committee)
Rochel.pinder-cuffie@slu.cuny.edu

Gladys Palma de Schrynemakers, Associate Dean Academic Affairs
gschryne@slu.cuny.edu

Nelly Benavides, Office of Administration
Nelly.benavides@slu.cuny.edu

Faculty Representative: TBA

Working Group 7: Governance, Leadership, and Administration

The institution is governed and administered in a manner that allows it to realize its stated mission and goals in a way that effectively benefits the institution, its students, and the other constituencies it serves. even when supported by or affiliated with governmental, corporate, religious, educational system, or other unaccredited organizations, the institution has education as its primary purpose, and it operates as an academic institution with appropriate autonomy.

Burt Sacks, Associate Dean Administration
Burt.sacks@slu.cuny.edu

Gladys Palma de Schrynemakers, Associate Dean Academic Affairs
gschryne@slu.cuny.edu

Faculty Representative: TBA

Labor and Community Advisory Board Representative: TBA